Helio Castroneves with AAA at Texas Motor Speedway (Photo TEAM PENSKE)

Helio Castroneves be back to the oval circuit of 1.5 miles located in Fort Worth, TX, where he won three of the this 25 victories in Indy, to compete on Saturday, 11, in the sixth round of the IZOD IndyCar Series with different format. Traditionally with 228 laps and 550 km, the 2011 event at Texas Motor Speedway will have two races, each with 114 laps or 275 km, and half the points. The starting grid of the first race will composed by the traditional Qualifying, while that of the other race will be determined by lot.

Helio Castroneves won at Texas Motor Speedway in 2004 (including pole position), 2006 and 2009. About this, the Team Penske driver is the biggest winner of the Indy Racing League in this track, next to the American driver Sam Hornish Jr, also with three 1
st places.

Opened in 1997, the main feature of the circuit is the inclination of 24 degrees in their curves, allowing of up to three cars side by side for long stretches of the trail 1.5 miles. The first race will start at 7:45 pm and the second exactly two hours later.


See the full schedule:


Friday, 10 jun

Practice 1 – 12:30 am – 1:45 pm

Qualifying Race 1 – 3:45 pm – 5:00 pm

Practice 2 – 6:45 pm – 7:15 pm


Saturday, 11 jun

Race 1 – 7:45 pm

Starting Grid Race 2 – Lot 15 min after the end of the Race 1

Race 2 – 9:45 pm







Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here